OK, so UT muffs an extra point attempt against Texas A&M. The ball, which was never held properly, is kicked into the end zone, where an Aggie falls on it. The refs then award UT a one-point "safety", which apparently must be kosher since A&M Coach Fraudchione isn't blowing a gasket over it. I know that if the Aggie had picked it pu and run it back it would've been two points their way, but I'm boggled as to why this isn't simply a touchback/dead ball.
Like the announcers, I've never seen or heard of this before. What would the call have been if a UT player had fallen on the ball? If the only good outcome for A&M after this kind of blown PAT attempt is for the ball to roll out of the end zone on its own, then maybe this is a dumb rule. Anyone out there have a better perspective on this one?
UPDATE: Lynn Swann finally gave an explanation that made sense. Apparently, the muffed kick was picked up in the field of play by an Aggie, and in the course of bringing it back, he fumbled it into the endzone. When another Aggie fell on it there, it became a one-point safety by rule 8-3-1. That's still the weirdest play I've seen in a long, long time.
UPDATE: The Chron explains the play.Posted by Charles Kuffner on November 26, 2004 to Other sports | TrackBack