March 31, 2008
Early voting for runoffs begins today

Early voting for the primary runoff elections begins today. Unlike the primary itself, there are some rules governing how you can vote.

Voters who participated in a March 4 primary can vote in the second round only in the runoffs for the party they chose in the first round.

Voters who did not vote in the March 4 primary can vote in either the Republican or the Democratic runoff contests.

So if you're one of those mythical Rushbots who followed orders to cast a vote in the Democratic primary, you can't now vote in the GOP runoff. I'd say I'm sorry about that, but if such people do exist, then I'm not, so it's just as well.

For the rest of you, if you plan on voting in the Democratic runoff, I hope you'll consider voting for one of these people:

For Railroad Commissioner, Dale Henry.

For 80th District Court (Civil) in Harris County, Larry Weiman.

For Fort Bend County Commissioner, Precinct 1, Richard Morrison.

For Travis County District Attorney, Rosemary Lehmberg.

For CD32 in Dallas County, Eric Roberson.

I also recommend voting early, so you don't forget and so there's no confusion about where to vote. Early voting runs 7 AM to 7 PM from Monday, March 31 to Friday, April 4. Runoff Day itself will be Tuesday, April 8. Happy voting!

Posted by Charles Kuffner on March 31, 2008 to Election 2008
Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)