We didn't have any voter ID action yesterday, but we did have this.
Some Democratic lawmakers joined by Texas residents who have had trouble getting drivers' licenses under new Department of Public Safety rules pushed Monday for legislation that would undo a policy they say harms U.S. citizens and legal immigrants.
Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon, of San Antonio, said the DPS overstepped its authority by creating new identification rules last fall for drivers' license applicants without getting approval from the Legislature.
"It's far-reaching, it's completely uncalled for and it's completely unnecessary," she said.
McClendon filed a bill that went before a House committee on Monday to stop the policy. Democratic Sen. Judith Zaffirini, of Laredo, filed an identical proposal in the Senate.
Under the new DPS rules, people seeking drivers' licenses who aren't U.S. citizens must show they are in the country legally and that their immigration documents don't expire within six months. DPS also changed the look of the licenses given to legal residents and added the designation "temporary visitor" on the card.
Republican Gov. Rick Perry supports the DPS rules, which took effect Oct. 1. His spokeswoman, Katherine Cesinger, said the rule change "ensures public safety and national security." She said the identification requirement is not unreasonable and shows that applicants are who they say they are.
The Public Safety Commission, which oversees DPS, said it wanted the change to enhance security and deter fraud. DPS officials say the change brings Texas closer to compliance with the impending federal REAL ID Act launched after the September 2001 terrorist attacks and governing drivers' license security.
The REAL ID act is unpopular with many states, and McClendon said it amounts to an unfunded mandate.
Rep. Rafael Anchia, a Dallas Democrat, said some elderly Texans do not have birth certificates. He specifically mentioned a 98-year-old woman in Fort Worth, whose original certificate burned in a courthouse fire years ago. Other U.S. citizens who were delivered by midwives don't have birth certificates, he said.
To get a Texas photo ID for the first time, you have to provide a birth certificate. A certified copy will cost you 22 smackeroos (Fraser's bill does not waive that fee), if you can manage to get one at all.
I asked DPS spokeswoman Tela Mange if there was any way to get a Texas photo ID without a birth certificate. She answered, "We gotta know who you are."
Getting a birth certificate so you can get a photo ID is a Catch 22 at the Texas Department of State Health Services. To get a copy of your birth certificate, you need to submit a copy of your photo ID. Technically, if you don't have an ID card, the DSHS Web site says you can submit an immediate family member's photo ID, or copies of two documents bearing your name, one with a signature. But the application http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/vs/reqproc/forms/vs142.3.pdf for a birth certificate reads, in bold caps, "APPLICATIONS WITHOUT PHOTO ID WILL NOT BE PROCESSED."
Summary: Getting a photo ID in Texas requires a birth certificate ... which requires a photo ID ... which requires a birth certificate ... which requires a photo ID ... and if you manage to stumble across the information about the technicality allowing alternative documentation, it'll still take DSHS 6 - 8 weeks to process your request if you pay with a check or money order ... by which time it may be too late to vote.