March 17, 2008
Endorsement watch: Tejano Dems and the HGLBT Caucus for the runoffs

However much value there was for endorsements in the March 4 primary - and in this year's environment, the answer is clearly "not much" - they will be a lot more valuable in the sure-to-be-tiny-turnout runoff. I'm guessing there will be a lot of consensus as well on the candidates. Here are the recommendations of the Tejano Democrats:

  • Dale Henry for Texas Railroad Commissioner
  • Larry Weiman for Judge of the 80th. Civil District Court
  • Re-endorsed Jeff Heintschel for Justice of the Peace Precinct 8 Place 1

And here's the Houston GLBT Political Caucus:

The Houston GLBT Political Caucus PAC is pleased to announce its endorsed candidates for the 2008 April 8 Run-off:

Railroad Commissioner - Dale Henry

*will work to protect our Texas environment

*will work to make sure Texas develops alternative forms of energy

*will include the GLBT community in his office

Judge, Civil Dist. 80 - Larry Weiman

*returning candidate from 2006

*representing Clients in Civil Litigation Law all over Texas since 1991

*excellent on GLBT issues and supportive of the community

"We wish to remind everyone that there is a run-off and hope voters will return and elect Dale and Larry, two excellent candidates on our issues," said Jenifer Pool, President of the Caucus, which held its PAC meeting on Wednesday evening, March 5. Early voting for the run-off begins on Monday, March 31 and ends on Friday, April 4. The election itself is scheduled for Tuesday, April 8.

I certainly expect the Dale Henry endorsement to be unanimous, and the other two I think will be nearly so. I base that on who collected what endorsements the first time around. I'll pass along more as they arrive.

One more runoff race I should have mentioned before is for Fort Bend County Commissioner, Precinct 1, in which Richard Morrison was the lead vote-getter on March 4. As I did for the first go-round, I'm happy to recommend a vote for Richard in the runoff as well.

Posted by Charles Kuffner on March 17, 2008 to Election 2008