Texan of the Year 2008

Press release from my colleague Vince Leibowitz, the chair of the Texas Progressive Alliance:

The Texas Progressive Alliance Tuesday announced that the Harris County Democratic Party Coordinated Campaign had been named its “Texan of the Year” for 2008.

Also earning honors from the Alliance were Texans for Obama, TexBlog PAC, and the late Jim Mattox, who were each named “Gold Star Texans” for 2008.

Winning 27 of 34 countywide races in Texas’ most populous county didn’t happen overnight, and the Harris County Democratic Party’s Coordinated Campaign managed not only to win seats with quality candidates, but to increase Democratic voter turnout and revive the Democratic Party in Harris County.

“The Harris County Democratic Party Coordinated Campaign is a shining example of what is possible with the help and support of thousands of grassroots Democrats and a well-run party infrastructure,” said Texas Progressive Alliance Chair Vince Leibowitz. “Every person who knocked on doors, made phone calls, and volunteered in Harris County should be very proud of what they accomplished in 2008,” he continued.

The Harris County Democratic Party Coordinated Campaign is the Alliance’s fourth recipient of its “Texan of the Year Award.” The campaign joins former State Rep. Carter Casteel of New Braunfels, who won the award in 2005; Carolyn Boyle of Texas Parent PAC, who took home the honor in 2006; and the trio of State Reps. Garnet Coleman, Jim Dunnam, and Pete Gallego who shared the honor in 2007.

Also honored this year were the organizations Texans for Obama and TexBlog PAC along with the late Jim Mattox, the former Texas Attorney General who passed away on November 20.

The Texan of the Year Award is voted on annually by the members of the Texas Progressive Alliance, the largest state-level organization of bloggers, blogs, and Netroots activists in the United States.

You can read more about the honorees here. Congratulations to all, and especially to the HCDP08 coordinated campaign for their hard work and dedication to turning Harris County blue.

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts
This entry was posted in The great state of Texas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Texan of the Year 2008

  1. baby snooks says:

    Was it the result of the Harris County Democratic Party or the “Obama” phenomenon?

    Keep in mind we still have a corrupt Republican as county judge and corrupt Republicans on our appellate courts. Not to mention a corrupt Republican replacing a corrupt Republican as tax assessor.

    And turnout by Hispanics was low. That is not something to be proud of. It indicates that the coordinated campaign overlooked the Hispanics for some reason.

Comments are closed.