Off the Kuff Rotating Header Image

December 22nd, 2007:

Looking forward to 2008: Matt Glazer

(Note: I have asked a variety of people to submit an essay to me to be posted during the month of December, to be called “Looking Forward to 2008”. This entry was written by Matt Glazer.)

Carl Sandburg once said, “I’m an idealist. I don’t know where I’m going, but I’m on my way.” Looking into 2008, we know where we’re going. We know the way there. The path to making Texas a better place for our parents’ generation and our children’s generations both intersect on November 4, 2008, and I am idealistic.

The road to change started before me. It started when bold leaders like Martin Frost and our Representatives in Congress took on Tom DeLay and the Republican Party in Washington. Representatives Garnet Coleman, Pete Gallego, Jim Dunnam and many others led the House against Tom Craddick in both Texas and Oklahoma. Senators from across the state took their fight to David Dewhurst. The battle cries of “Remember Ardmore” inspired me to fight the good fight.

Here we are in 2007 on the edge of taking back the Texas House. State Senate candidates in Dallas and Galveston are looking to pick up victories in districts drawn to be Republican strongholds. Not since Ann Richards have Democrats been so optimistic about their statewide candidate, and now we have the chance to vote for Lt. Col. Rick Noriega.

While 2007 ushered in an era of hope, this year will bring change… real and meaningful change.

As we look over the horizon, I am excited by the things we have accomplished and the things we will accomplish. The online community is more organized than in any other election cycle. With more readers today than ever before and new tools like TexBlog PAC, the online community is going offline. If possible, we are ready to inspire others. El Paso, Dallas and Austin are blue and operative and activists are hungry to do the same in Houston and San Antonio. 2008 is a change election, and I look forward being a part of the Democratic revolution. I look forward to 2008.

Matt Glazer is the editor-in-chief of the and the chair of the board for the TexBlog PAC.

“Toxic Mike Jackson”

From the Texas League of Conservation Voters:

The Texas League of Conservation Voters (TLCV) announced today the release of, a website designed to highlight State Senator Mike Jackson’s disgraceful record on clean air and other environmental issues, his ignoble distinction of filing the worst environmental bill of the 20007 legislative session, and his overwhelming financial support from big polluters and other special interest lobby groups in Austin.

“Sen. Jackson repeatedly puts the special interests of big polluters over the health and safety of his constituents,” said TLCV’s Executive Director, Colin Leyden. “This website will give voters in his district the information they need to make an informed decision at the polls in November of 2008.”

Backed by the polluter lobby, Jackson filed SB 1317 earlier this year to stop Houston’s efforts to clean up toxic air pollution. Jackson’s lobby-backed bill prohibited a municipality from regulating air pollution through ordinance.

“Voters are sick – literally – and tired of politicians accepting big checks from industry lobbyists and then turning around and doing their bidding,” said Leyden. “Voters in Senate Dist. 11 are ready to send career politicians like Jackson a message at the polls: You’ve failed to fight for our interests, and now it’s time to leave.”

During floor and committee debate, it often appeared as if Sen. Jackson either did not understand his own bill or was being purposely misleading, Leyden said. Despite being told otherwise, he repeatedly argued to fellow Senators that Texas should let the EPA do its job of regulating toxic pollution. He also seemed to think that the issue was part of ongoing efforts to reduce area smog. Unlike NOx and other major ozone contributors, the EPA does not regulate toxic air pollution.

“It’s difficult to know which is worse – willful ignorance or deceit,” said Leyden.

Sen. Jackson was named one of TLCV’s “Worst” senators in their 2007 Legislative Scorecard.

The Texas League of Conservation Voters and the affiliated TLCVPAC is dedicated to electing legislators who conserve Texas air, water, parks, public lands and public waters, and defeating those who don’t.

Two words: Joe Jaworski. ‘Nuff said.