Early voting for the 2024 primaries begins today

From the inbox:

Harris County Clerk Teneshia Hudspeth announces that Tuesday, February 20, starts Early Voting for the March 5 Joint Primary Elections. The polls are open February 20 to March 1, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., except Sunday, February 25, noon to 7 p.m. Harris County has countywide polling, which means voters can go to any of the 79 early vote centers open across the county.

“Political parties hold primary elections to determine their candidates for the November General Election,” explained Clerk Hudspeth, the county’s chief election official. “While this is a presidential election this year, voters will also vote for Texas officials running for office at the federal, state, and local levels.

In Harris County, the Democratic Primary has 119 races, and the Republican Primary has 122. However, voters will only vote in contests connected to the address where they are registered. Voters will see from 56 to 65 contests on their ballots, depending on where they registered to vote and which primary election they are voting in. Voters can view and print a sample ballot to take to the polls on our website.

“Texas is an open primary state; citizens do not have to register with a party to vote,” added Clerk Hudspeth. “During an election cycle, voters may participate in either primary election but not both. At the polls, voters must choose whether they want to vote in the Republican or Democratic primary when they check in.”

The following forms of photo ID are acceptable when voting in person:

  • Texas Driver’s License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
  • Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS
  • Texas Handgun License issued by DPS
  • United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Passport (book or card)

Voters who do not possess and cannot obtain one of these forms of photo ID may fill out a Reasonable Impediment Declaration (RID) at a Vote Center and present another form of ID, such as a utility bill, bank statement, government check, or voter registration certificate.

Additional election information is available at www.HarrisVotes.com . For news and updates, follow us on social media at @HarrisVotes.

See here for more on the joint primary, which may be a one-off or may be the new normal depending on what the next Lege does. We at least will have only one page to print and scan now, so hopefully that will facilitate things a bit. You can find the early voting locations here and here. I may pick a new place to try this year, there are a couple between where I live and where I work that I’ll consider. If you’re not in Harris County, Houston Landing has some information for you about where to vote.

Here’s a list of all my interviews and Q&As so far:

Karthik Soora, SD15
Michelle Bonton, SD15
Molly Cook, SD15
Rep. Jarvis Johnson, SD15
Todd Litton, SD15
Beto Cardenas, SD15

Nasir Malik, SD07

Annette Ramirez, Tax Assessor
Danielle Bess, Tax Assessor
Jerry Davis, Tax Assessor
Desiree Broadnax, Tax Assessor
Claude Cummings, Tax Assessor

Christian Menefee, Harris County Attorney
Umeka Lewis, Harris County Attorney

Kim Ogg, Harris County District Attorney
Sean Teare, Harris County District Attorney

Amanda Edwards, CD18

Pervez Agwan, CD07
Rep. Lizzie Fletcher, CD07

Melissa McDonough, CD38
Gion Thomas, CD38

Marquette Greene-Scott, CD22

Danny Norris, HD142

Lauren Ashley Simmons, HD146
Ashton Woods, HD146

Mo Jenkins, HD139
Charlene Ward Johnson, HD139
Rosalind Caesar, HD139

Justice Richard Hightower, First Court of Appeals, Place 8

Justice Peter Kelly, First Court of Appeals, Place 9

Justice Jerry Zimmerer, 14th Court of Appeals, Place 3
Velda Faulkner, 14th Court of Appeals, Place 3

Justice Charles Spain, 14th Court of Appeals, Place 4

Justice Meagan Hassan, 14th Court of Appeals, Place 6

Judge Kyle Carter, 125th Civil District Court
Lema Mousilli, 125th Civil District Court

Judge R.K. Sandill, 127th Civil District Court

Nicole Perdue, 133rd Civil District Court
Brandi Croffee, 133rd Civil District Court

Judge Mike Engelhart, 151st Civil District Court
Erica Hughes, 151st Civil District Court

Judge Robert Schaffer, 152nd Civil District Court
TaKasha Francis, 152nd Civil District Court

Judge Cheryl Elliott Thornton, 164th Civil District Court
Joy Dawson Thomas, 164th Civil District Court

Jill Yaziji, 165th Civil District Court

Judge Brittanye Morris, 333rd Civil District Court
Tracy Good, 333rd Civil District Court

Allison Jackson Mathis, 338th Criminal District Court

Vivian King, 486th Criminal District Court

Judge Julia Maldonado, 507th Family District Court
Lillian Alexander, 507th Family District Court – coming tomorrow

Juan Aguirre, County Criminal Court at Law #16
Ashley Mayes Guice, County Criminal Court at Law #16

Fran Watson, County Probate Court #5
Chavon Carr, County Probate Court #5
Troy Moore, County Probate Court #5

Related Posts:

This entry was posted in Election 2024 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.